This is a tiny (0.60m width) train line, with Volos as the departure point and Milies as the terminal (28km distance), with intermediate stations and stops in the most important villages of the route. The route includes technical works quite large for their time, like bridges, tunnels, retaining walls, etc., embedded in the rich natural environment of Pelion. The train stations are of great architectural interest and the rolling stock (which is kept in perfect condition until today) is unique to Greece. The construction of the line began in 1881. The first track from Volos to Lechonia was delivered in 1896 and the remainder up to Milies in 1903. The designer and manufacturer of the project was the Italian engineer Ernesto de Chirico, father of the famous painter Giorgio de Chirico. The operation of the train had a decisive contribution to the development of the settlements it served; however, in 1971 it stopped working. The effort to put the train back on the tracks started in 1985. The train line needed repair of the rolling stock (already completed) and maintenance of the lines and the buildings which is still unfinished.
In 1985 it was declared a historical monument. Service Unit: Service of Modern Monuments and Technical Works of Thessaly and Central Greece. The train operates today between Ano Lechonia and Milies. The dates of the routes vary depending on the season.
Telephone number: +30 24210 39723
- LocationWest Pelion
- By medias
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org